Signing and notarization

RsyncOSX is signed with my Apple ID developer certificate and notarized by Apple. This means that the app is verified and checked for not containing malicious code and it will work with Apples Gatekeeper technology. From macOS 10.15 Catalina, notarizing is required for all software. The message is “Apple checked it for malicious software and none was detected.” You can also verify the signing by utilizing xcode developer tools. If you have Xcode developer tools installed, by executing the following command you can verify RsyncOSX:

Snapshots

Utilizing snapshot is an effective method for restore of previous versions of data and deleted files. Snapshot utilize hardlinks and only changed and deleted files are saved as separate files in a snapshot. Files which are not changed are hardlinks to the original file. If a file.txt is saved in snapshot number one and never changed or deleted, the file file.txt in the latest snapshot is just a hardlink to the original file.

User configuration

There are a few parameters to choose in user configuration. Parameters are saved to permanent store. Rsync v3.2.x rsync - set optional path if NOT by Homebrev - any version of rsync should work, but only version 2.6.9 and 3.2.x are tested and verified utilizing the snapshot feature require version 3.2.x of rsync optional path for rsync: if utilized version of rsync is not installed by Homebrew set path to rsync temporary path restore: preset temporary path for restoring single files and catalogs preset temporary path for a full restore If there is a not valid rsync path is set an error is presented.

User selected rsync parameters

See also default parameters for info about default parameters and the ssh parameters (local). Rsync utilizes a ton of parameters. Parameters are normally constructed as: parameter=value - --exclude-from=/Volumes/home/user/exclude-list.txt parameter only - --stats, --dry-run For a full list of parameters to rsync please see the rsync docs. Add parameters You can instruct rsync to save changed and deleted files in a separate backup catalog ahead of the change. This feature is utilized by setting the following parameters: